Review | Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

description

“You haven’t got a letter on yours,” George observed. “I suppose she thinks you don’t forget your name. But we’re not stupid-we know we’re called Gred and Forge.” 

description

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

description Well, it turns out all those Muggles were right…

description

I didn’t enjoy reading until a few years ago.  Having suffered through so many years of school required reading, I couldn’t look at a book without thinking of essays!  Not to mention my distaste for writing at the time.  All that changed however, with one book that was so magnificent, it must have been a gift from God!  It completely altered my view of books.  What was this holy novel, you might be asking?  …It wasn’t Harry Potter.  It was The Hunger Games.  As my eyes were opened to the Young Adult genre, my love of reading began.  Shortly after reading The Hunger Games, I made a deal with my friend, who passionately loved the Harry Potter books and had been trying to get me to read them for quite some time.  If she read the first Hunger Games book, I’d read the first Harry Potter book. Flash forward a few months, and wouldn’t you know it, my friend read the whole trilogy!  Did I breeze through all seven Harry Potter books in a week?  HAHAHAHAHA, NO.

You want to know the best part?  That was 3 years ago…

description

I had been hearing about Harry Potter since I knew how to read, but really disliked the concept of it.  It’s just about some stupid boy who goes to a school for wizards!  Also, I’ve heard it rips off Lord of the Rings, so I’m going to stay as far away from it as possible.  See, the funny thing about this is, I actually knew nothing about Harry Potter.  Nothing. Zip. Nada.  I hadn’t even seen more than 5 minutes of the movies!  *gasps*  After having a hundred or so people threatening me to read it, out of fear for my life, I complied.  I certainly am glad I did.  It was incredible!  Absolutely stupendous!

description

“So light a fire!” Harry choked. “Yes…of course…but there’s no wood!”
“HAVE YOU GONE MAD!” Ron bellowed. “ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT!”

Harry.

Undoubtedly, my favorite part of this beautiful book was its beautiful characters. Harry, Hermione, Ron, Fred, George…I love them all! Ironically, Harry was my least favorite of the trio. Not that I didn’t like him, but he just didn’t have as distinct of a personality as Hermione and Ron.  However, I still admired his loyalty and selflessness.  I’m really excited to see how his character develops throughout the series.

Hermione.

Is it bad if I see a lot of myself in Hermione?  Haha.  I can be the occasional smart-alec who gets all up in your business…so, naturally, I love Hermione Granger.  She wasn’t a Mary Sue!  She was intelligent, loyal, and feisty!  There really should be more heroines like her.  I also have brown hair, brown eyes, and am Muggle-born…

We’re practically the same person.

Ron.

He was pretty great too. Having four siblings (two of which, are twins), I can relate to him. Ron and Hermione’s bickering was positively priceless, and he had more than a few memorable remarks. He was the comedy relief of the whole book, and it wouldn’t be the same without him.

Malfoy. 

I was really hoping this little git would get devoured by Fluffy.

Other characters. 

Hagrid, was hilarious, and is it strange if I am particularly fond of Hedwig? Dumbledore didn’t really have that much screen time, so I don’t really know what to think of him…yet.  My favorite, or should I say favorites, are definitely Gred and Froge. *wink*  I swear, I was cracking up over every dialogue they had.  As a matter of fact, I loved all the Weasleys.

“Now, you two – this year, you behave yourselves. If I get one more owl telling me you’ve – you’ve blown up a toilet or –”
“Blown up a toilet? We’ve never blown up a toilet.”
“Great idea though, thanks, Mum.”  

description

I finally see why everyone admires J.K. Rowling.  Hogwarts and the wizard world she creates is whimsically ingenious.  Honestly, why can’t Quidditch be a real sport?  It’s fantastic! I want to ride a broom stick and hit flying balls into peoples’ faces! All flavor jelly beans? How awesome is that? Apparently, you can buy them from Amazon…including earwax flavor (Eww, wasn’t licorice bad enough?). I’m not kidding, look it up!  Rowling did a marvelous job of luring me into Potter’s world. The only aspect of the universe that puzzles me, is where exactly is Hogwarts?  Is it in a different universe from our reality? If so, how are Harry and Ron (I started a wee bit on Chamber of Secrets…as soon as I finished this one) able to fly a car there?!

description

    • The protagonist and side characters.  Lovely, lovely, lovely characters.  Rowling did a spectacular job of creating such a hilarious and realistic cast.
    • The plot was highly entertaining.  Though a little short, Harry and his friends’ adventure was incredibly entertaining and I am especially curious about what other secrets Hogwarts holds…
    • Rowling’s writing was pleasant and engaging.  A little simple, yes, but short and sweet. What else should I expect from a Middle Grade novel?
    • The plot twist in the end.  I’m not going to lie, I felt quite childish that I didn’t see it coming. It was so obvious, yet I was too busy laughing over Harry swallowing Quidditch balls to notice what was right in front of me.
    • The villains.  *claps* Well done, Rowling. Well done.

description

    • The Pacing. A short novel? Understandable.  An abrupt ending? Inexcusable.

description

I hope all you Muggles are happy now!  I finally did it!

description
Harry Potter was so wonderful! I really should’ve read it all those years ago. The characters were exceptional, story incredible, writing amiable…honestly, what else can I say, other than it truly was a magical book.  I’ll absolutely be finishing this series.

description

13 thoughts on “Review | Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. Fantastic review! I’m so glad you read it and loved it! Having read the whole series, I can tell you that Hogwarts is supposed to be in Scotland (or so I’ve gathered) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved your review! It was so interesting to hear what it was like to read the series for the first time, having grown up with the books and movies I could not even begin to imagine what experiencing it for the first time would be like! I totally agree with you on the characters, I love all of them, but my favourites have to be Fred and George!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

