Tag | Seasons of Book Blogging

description

I was tagged by Reg @ She Latitude. Thanks, reg!

The Rules

  • Thank the creator (thanks, Jordyn!) and the individual who tagged you
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there
  • State the best gift you’ve received after answering the prompt on your birthday month
  • Tag anyone

December

… is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.
description

Hmm…well, this would definitely depend one whom I’m giving the gift to. However, I would probably give The Book Thief by Markus Zusak to anyone. Haha. I know, I know, I mention in this book in nearly every tag, but it’s my favorite book ever, so what’d you expect? And I truly believe that everyone would love this book, regardless of their age or taste in books.

January

… begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

Well, I’m not really into New Year’s resolutions, but I did set a reading goal at the beginning of this year to read 60 books…I have 12 days to read my last 16 books. Whoops!

February

… is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

description
What!?

What, uh, excuse me, what!? I’m expected to name just one! This is madness! It’s like asking a mother to choose her favorite child! I can’t name just one, so I’ll list a few: Hans and Liesel from The Book Thief (again), Percy and Annabeth (Percy Jackson Series), Connor and Risa (Unwind Dystology), & Thorne and Cress (Lunar Chronicles). I could go on forever.

March

… is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book/series you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

description

I’d love to re-experience the Percy Jackson books. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Harry Potter books too, but since I just barely finished them, I’d much rather re-experience the Percy Jackson series. I read those books quite a few years ago, so I’d love to see what it’d be like reading it for the first time, in high school.

April

… is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

description

Divergent by Veronica Roth. Before you start chasing me with your pitchforks, let me just say that I did in fact, like it. But I was expecting a lot more – I heard so many good things about this book. With it so often being compared to The Hunger Games, how could I not expect it to be just as good? It did not live up to my expectations, but I still thought it was a really good book.

May  

… is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.
description

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter. My review.  What an extraordinary bit of serendipity! To put it bluntly, I was expecting a cliche’d, Mary-sue driven train-wreck. I’m so glad that it wasn’t! It was absolutely hilarious and one of the cutest books I’ve ever read!

June

… is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

Anything Middle Grade that isn’t depressing. Seriously, I love Middle Grade books. They’re so sweet and light-hearted! You know…usually. *cough* A Monster Calls *cough*

July

… is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks.
description

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. So, if you haven’t heard of The Hunger Games, then you probably live under a rock…or on Mars. I was one of those fangirls who would tell you why I was Team Peeta or Gale, and threaten you to join me. I have a Catching Fire sweatshirt, a pin, ring, necklace, laptop bag, all 3 books, all the movies (that are out), as well as multiple posters. I adored this book will all my heart several years ago, and even though I still love it, I can safely say that I’m not obsessed with it. But yes, when I first read this book, I saw many fireworks.

This is the month of my birthday, and I think the best gift I’ve ever received was a laptop…this laptop that I’m typing on, as a matter of fact. 😀

August

… is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

description

Ooh, tough one, but I have a really good feeling about A Study in Charlotte by  Brittany Cavallaro. I loved Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, so I’m really hoping this will be fantastic.

September

… is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I love this book so much! It was my first Austen novel, and it was spectacular. I’m really glad I had to read this for my British Literature course, because I’m not sure when I would’ve picked it up if not for that class.

October

… is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as.

description

 

Cinder from the Lunar Chronicles. I’d love to try and take a crack at cyborg makeup! Cinder is one of my favorite heroines, and I think it’d be a blast to dress up as her. Plus, I’m half Chinese and half Irish, so I could totally pass as her. 😀

 November

… is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

Oh gosh, there’s that word again: one. *sigh* Okay. I’m going to have to say, The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. And it was recommended to me, by none other than my Dad. ^_^

description

I Tag:

Everyone! If you want to do this, consider yourself tagged! 😀

description

4 thoughts on “Tag | Seasons of Book Blogging

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

