Review | Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

description

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”

description

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

description

Sheesh, I’m behind in my Harry Potter reviews. I guess watching the movie was the kick I needed to finally sit down and write them. Prisoner of Azkaban is tied with Deathly Hallows as my favorite Harry Potter book. It’s action-packed, beautiful, scary, stunning! I loved it so much, because honestly, what’s not to love! There’s Quiddittch (Oliver Wood cracked me up!), time travel (eep!), Buckbeak, Hermione awesomeness, time travel (EEP!), werewolves, prisoners, S.P.E.W., time travel (EEEEEEEEP!!!), & so much more!

Rowling’s writing (as I’ve mentioned before) isn’t spectacular, but it’s thoroughly entertaining. The world building is growing, and I especially love the village of Hogsmeade. The plot twists are incredible, and the ending is highly unexpected.

This is going to be a relatively short review, because what else can I say about this book that hasn’t already been said (and I’m like 10 book reviews behind schedule)?

Buckbeak is the best! 

Harry’s growing up! He’s no longer that sweet little eleven-year-old from Privet Drive. As the books progress, he’s developing more and more, and I love it! He’s beginning to take on more responsibilities and his emotions nearly get the better of him multiple times (like a real human being!). One of my favorite scenes is this part…Haha.

This is undoubtedly my favorite Hermione-book. I’ve always related with Hermione, but I especially connect with her in this book. She takes on way too many classes and in doing so, distances herself from everyone, loses sleep, and eventually just slaps Malfoy! I also thought that S.P.E.W. was absolutely hilarious!

Blimey, divination would put me to sleep too. Ron is hilarious as usual, but he really annoyed me with the way he treated Hermione when he thought Crookshanks had eaten Scabbers. Speaking of which, I love the significance Scabbers has to the plot! 

I love Sirius Black! He’s one of my favorite characters! I felt so bad for him being imprisoned in Azkaban for all those years. Don’t even get me started on Order of the Phoenix, okay?

I feel like an idiot. An absolute idiot. His NAME is Remus Lupin. I can’t even believe how obvious that was and I didn’t catch it! *sigh* Anyway, I loved Lupin – I wish he was the Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher permanently.

And I thought Aragog was creepy…

I am a huge fan of time travel (in case you couldn’t tell). Especially, paradoxes…or at least when it’s done well. Which in this case, it is! Love, love, loved it!

This is the best magical artifact in the Harry Potter universe. Period. And the Weasley twins are two of the best fictional characters ever. Just thought I’d point that out.

description

I loved all the original characters, and enjoyed the newer ones too (aka Sirius and Lupin). Harry, Ron, and Hermione’s friendship is one of my favorites, because even though they don’t always get along, they’re always there for each other. I also really liked how Dumbledore and Harry’s relationship is manifesting, and Sirius and Harry’s godfather-godson relationship sparked. 😀

Which is your favorite Harry Potter book? Let me know in the comments!

description

52 thoughts on “Review | Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

  1. Wonderful review! I didn’t even reviewed and rated the HP books in GR because I’m that absent-minded lol 🙂 I love Sirius and Remus!! I just hoped that Sirius found one true love before that shit happened in book 5 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I never feel like writing Harry Potter reviews and I don’t know why! (Clearly something is wrong with me). Sirius and Remus are the best! I bawled out in book 5 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. true true. I feel like everything has been said and done and my review is so insignificant anymore because everybody loved (OR READ) HP already 🙂

        This is why book 5 and 6 were least of my fave books 😦 All those shits and stuffs that are happening 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hated Umbridge in book 5, then Sirius died.. Then on book 6, DUmbledore died too and I was like.. take me away,I’m so done.. Then Deathly Hollows killed me. Fred, Moody, Tonks and Remus? Nope. So done.

        Rowling knows how to hurt. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ahahaha, you just summed up my emotions while reading those books perfectly. Yep, Rowling, definitely knows how to hurt.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. exactly. So I was complaining that “I wished Sirius has found his true love before Rowling killed him” and then this person said that it was once mentioned that the Malfoys (lucius) has a sister who has disowned and all records about here were destroyed because she has a relationship with Sirius and I was like.. DAFUQ?

        Like

  2. I LOVE this review!! I’ve been really debating whether or not I want to read the books again (I cringe knowing I typed that out).. But I just don’t want to be disappointed, you know? Like as a kid I LOVED the books, but my worry is that I’ll reread them and think they aren’t as great. INTERNAL DEBATES FOREVER. The movies are always on point though, your GIF’s were perfect. My favorite book is The Goblet of Fire. I loved the adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *gasp* You’re never too old to read/re-read Harry Potter! Goblet of Fire is my third favorite, after Prisoner of Azkaban and Deathly Hallows. ^_^

      Like

      1. Ohhhh Deathly Hallows was amazing. I know what I said was totally gasp-worthy. LE SIGH. Internal turmoil is commencing. Maybe I’ll do it. Decisions, decisions. D:

        Like

  3. Oh my goodness, I love you! Why? Because of this: “Rowling’s writing (as I’ve mentioned before) isn’t spectacular…” This is the most amazing thing I’ve ever read and I thank you because it’s true! ^.^ Finally someone who agrees with me! Okay, carry on. :p

    P.s. Your review makes me want to re-read the book (and I should. It’s been like….. 12 years? Gosh, I’m old. -.-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, yay, someone agrees with me! 😀 Yes, you must re-read it, Melanie! I’d re-read them too, but I think I need to finish watching all the movies first. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! I’ve watched the movies a billion times. My brother, sister-in-law, and I do a marathon every year. Though, I probably should read the books, too. So much was left out in the movies. Perhaps I can do reviews of them myself now that I’m older and know what a review is. 😛 (I totally failed a book report on HP in 3rd grade. Woops!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, I thought the first two movies did an amazing job of following the books, but Goblet of Fire left out SO much stuff! I hated book reports when I was younger, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I mean, it was still entertaining, but the book was SO MUCH BETTER! I wanted more Sirius and Winky ;( And when Harry retells the story for Dumbledore and Fudge doesn’t believe him wasn’t in the movie!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think my favourite would have to be the lengthier ones. I can’t put my finger on which one was the best but the ones with considerable lengths made me never want to leave to the world!!! Harry potter is just so good for the soul. Awesome review & lovely blog 🙂 I just started my blog yesterday and I would love for you to check mine out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked my review and blog! I checked out and followed your blog. Welcome to the blogging universe! Haha. ^.^

      Like

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

