Let’s Talk About… Love Triangles

It’s about time I’ve written a discussion post! I’ve been meaning to get to this for a while now, but never did. Being in the worst reading slump I’ve been in since last summer, what better time to start a discussion feature? I hope to write a discussion post every Friday, or at least once a week. Without further ado, let’s talk about love triangles!

What Is A Love Triangle?

“A love triangle (also called a romantic love triangle or a romance triangle) is usually a romantic relationship involving three people. While it can refer to two people independently romantically linked with a third, it usually implies that each of the three people has some kind of relationship to the other two.” – Wikipedia.

What I Don’t Like About Them  

  • The Insignificance – aka The Maze Runner Trilogy 

I typically don’t have an issue with romance in a novel. As a matter of fact, I actually prefer books with a little romance to keep my girly heart appeased. However, nothing irritates me more than a pointless relationship. Take The Maze Runner for instance. Teresa serves no purpose to the plot whatsoever, other than to be Thomas’ romantic interest. If that insta-love wasn’t bad enough, then came the The Scorch Trials… Listen up folks, cause this is where things get irritating. Thomas spends nearly the entire book mooning over Teresa and then once this chick named Brenda arrives, he starts realizing he’s got feelings for her too! Naturally, the two girls resent each other, and Thomas is very conflicted between which of the girls is a better kisser. He is so conflicted, that he decides to devote all his thoughts to them, rather than the life or death situation he’s in! And, it only makes sense that neither girl shows any importance to the plot. That, is what I like to call a useless love triangle. 

  • The Screw Over. 

The way I see it, there is really only two ways a love triangle is resolved. Love interest #1 ends up with the protagonist, and love interest #2 ends up with death or eternal loneliness. I’m sure they exist, but I have not once read a book where the second love interest ends up happily…or at least one that wasn’t with a random NEW love interest. I personally find it to be a pretty cheap and lazy writing.

  • The Backup. 

Ever read that one book where a random person shows up mid-series, and the protagonist ditches their original love interest for that person? No? Sadly, it exists. Isn’t it so convenient that they happen to have another soul mate! How cliche, deus ex machina, irritating, lucky is that!

  • The Backfire.

Ah, the phenomenon that occurs when the love interests becomes infatuated with each other, and the protagonist winds up alone. Yep, I have seen this happen before.

  • The Thoughts – aka why Matched sucks. 

*rubs hands together* I’ve been waiting to rant about this book again. Unless you worship love triangles, I wouldn’t recommend this book to another human soul. Our pathetic heroine, Cassia (Er…I think that was her name?) think of nothing, except the two guys she’s in love with. I’m serious. Nothing at all. When all the protagonist can think about is who they’re more in love with, what’s the point in even reading the darn book!

  • The Change – aka What Happened In Mockingjay

Oh yes, you all know what I’m talking about. Katniss Everdeen, one of my favorite heroines ever went from being a strong, admirable protagonist in The Hunger Games to an absolute wreck in Mockingjay. The main cause of this? Boy trouble, of course! Just to be clear, I am not ranting on Katniss for getting depressed over the whole Peeta situation, but the change she goes through is very irritating, and I ended up hating her by the end of the book. And don’t even get me started on the way that love triangle ended.

  • The Sides – aka The Spawn of Twilight

Silly me, I nearly forgot to mention the number one reason why I hate love triangles! *drum roll* The enraged group of fangirls who want to jump you for not being on their team! Assuming the case wasn’t Twilight, there’s actually a few books where I like both love interests, and am genuinely annoyed that they waste quite a bit of their time with petty feuds to gain the protagonists’ favor. Is it really worth it!? I love a good bromance, yet love triangles seem to wreck all of those, huh?

Let’s Wrap It Up  

Yay, I wrote a whole discussion post! Look ma! I’m a real blogger now! Oh, you thought I’d say what I like about love triangles? Sorry, ‘fraid I don’t have anything nice to say about them. I have seen a love triangle or two where it didn’t annoy me to no end, but I am just not a fan of them. I can see why some people enjoy them, but it has personally, never been my cup of tea.

What are your thoughts on love triangles? Let me know in the comments! 

description

36 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Love Triangles

  1. I hate love triangles. Completely agree with you over The scorch trials. And over Katniss.

    I’ve only read the first book, but I watched all the films and in the last film after everything was resolved, I was like, that’s how this love triangle, that you’ve dragged over all these whole film, ends? It wasn’t even a proper love triangle, just some half hearted thing.

    I think it’s rare for love triangles to succeed and for readers to actually enjoy them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Can we take a moment and recognize that I still DO NOT SHIP Peeta and Katniss. I liked the other guy… *forgets his name*.

    As for love triangles, I really don’t like them. I think the authors just use them to fill pages and it’s really frustrating. You don’t need a character to meet someone new to realize they “really loved” the first person. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. The other guy is Gale, and yep, I was rooting for Katniss and Gale until Mockingjay…then, I hated Katniss so much that I didn’t want her to end up with anybody! The only two people I cared about were Finnick and Annie…

      Like

      1. FINNICK AND ANNIEEE! My heartstrings….. I knew it started with a G. Sigh, I rooted for them so much! At least The Hunger Games trilogy was better than Divergent *angry hiss forever*

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I have actually only read the first Divergent book. lol. I really enjoyed The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but Mockingjay was only decent imo. :p

        Like

  3. When it’s done right, I like Love Triangles. My favorite and the best IMO is Midsummer Night’s Dream by Shakespeare.

    As for Hunger Games… The story was more about war than it was about romance. I think (and the director of the movie and the author of the book thinks) that the romance story was more on the backburner of the whole plot. And I wasn’t surprised with Katniss’ choice or change.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The only Shakespeare I have seen is Romeo and Juliet (I’m so ashamed of myself!). I agree that the romance wasn’t the main conflict in the Hunger Games trilogy (I LOVED the first two books), but it irritated me in Mockingjay.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t mind love triangles as long as they are somewhat consistent, have a solid basis and aren’t incredibly irritating. I also hate it when the two love interests cannot stand each other just because they have the same romantic interest. I also don’t like when there is already a relationship and another person comes in….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YES YES!! I found another person who hates love triangles!! I did a discussion post on this topic as well, back in November or December. 😀 I absolutely loathe them, I really don’t understand how one person can hover back and fourth between two guys or girls, it’s just damn irritating when the whole focus of the book becomes the love triangle rather than the plot. I’m only okay with 1% where love triangles are executed well but still it’s something I don’t like, I love a protagonist who knows what they want! Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s not been many love triangles I don’t mind. Most of the time I hate them because it somehow always ends up being the main storyline. That’ll be all they think about and it’ll be this ongoing debate and I’ll just sit there thinking “oh my god we get it”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I feel like a painful amount of authors throw in love triangles when they can’t be bothered to think up one, strong, realistic and enjoyable romance. If they don’t want the effort of writing that then why not just leave out the romance all together? If a books that good we might not even notice the lack of love interests.
    I also hate when people take sides over who a character should end up with in the love triangle. When these people argue it shows they both absolutely LOVE the book enough to discuss it with so much emotion, yet they’re blinded by their differing opinions. We should be fangirling together – not against each other.
    This was a really good discussion post- I look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree with you, love triangles are my number one hate clichee in books! Apart from all of your points, I can’t stand how the main character is happy to just string both guys/gals along. Why can’t they just pick one and let the other get on with life? Why do they have to give both LIs hope? I can’t tell you how much they annoy me.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hahahahaha I love how there is no pro side to love triangles. I personally don’t hate love triangles (but I’m kind of glad I DNF The Maze Runner before the love triangle happened and I didn’t start Matched). I think Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight has a nice love triangle that doesn’t seem to over power the story line but I don’t know how it plays out towards the end of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I couldn’t find any pros! XD I have not read Throne of Glass yet (you can go ahead and shun me now…), but I’ve been meaning to for a really long time.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, the first Maze Runner book is actually decent, but I wouldn’t recommend the re st of the series. Matched was just plain awful. Thanks, Paige! ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The movie is good, but if they still put that crap on the 2nd movie, then I wouldn’t watch it. I have headaches by just reading the book. I’m never a fan or Dashner’s way of writing 🙂

        And you’re welcome ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I completly agree! Matched was one of the worst books I’ve ever read because of this reason. When done right they don’t bother me (The Infernal Devices), but the problem is that they are almost never done right! The backfire picture is just perfect. I’ve ranted before about how much I hate calling it a love triangle. A triangle implies that all three points are in love with each other, instead of two of the points in love with one point.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

