Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @ GingerReadSlainey on YouTube. You can view her Goodreads group to hop on this bandwagon. We all know the saying, don’t judge a book by its cover. Well, this week’s theme is disappointing eye candy – also known as, why that saying is sometimes correct.

5. The Host by Stephanie Meyer. 

The Host (The Host, #1)

I actually DNF’d this. Yes, me DNFing a book! Shame on me. I was around 11 when I read this, so maybe I’ll like this now? Let me know what you think in the comments!

4. Seeing Red by Frank Beddor. 

Seeing Redd (The Looking Glass Wars, #2)

I really enjoyed the first book, which only had a mildly interesting cover, but this cover was stunning…and frankly, the book was not. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t good either.

3. The Eye of Minds by James Dashner. 

The Eye of Minds (The Mortality Doctrine, #1)

Nope, not my cup of tea.

2. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series by Michael Scott. 

The Enchantress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #6)

This series is one of the select few, where I read them purely based off the novels’ covers. I didn’t even bother reading the premise, before checking out all six books from the library…yeah, that was a mistake. To be honest, I did like these a lot when I was younger, but overall, it’s a mediocre series.

1. Matched by Ally Condie. 

Matched (Matched, #1)

I feel like I’ve ranted enough on this one. Full review.

Well, that sums up this Top 5 Wednesday! What’s your most disappointing eye candy?

description

28 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy

  1. The Host is actually a pretty decent novel. The love triangle (square?) was too much in my opinion, especially for a standalone, but it has an interesting plot. Unfortunately it does fall a little flat in the end and it could do with a sequel. I’d say give it a try if you ever feel like reading dystopian alien-human romance (I don’t even know how to qualify this book actually) with that trademark Meyer ending: a build-up to no climax.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hmm…okay. I may pick it up again. I haven’t read the Twilights book (and don’t plan on), so I’m not quite sure what Meyer’s writing is like. Thanks!

      Like

  2. I felt the same about Seeing Redd. I enjoyed the first book (I listened to the audiobook), but when I tried to listen to the audiobook for Seeing Redd, I just couldn’t do it. I got over halfway through and was just so bored and honestly I don’t even remember anything that happened in it! I never finished it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually really enjoyed The Host but I was maybe 15 or 16 when I read it? Meyer was aiming the book at adults more than teens so that’s probably why you didn’t enjoy it when you were 11, haha. 🙂 I read a quarter of the first book in the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series and just haven’t finished it so I’m glad to see it isn’t just me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I actually preferred The Host to Twilight. However, I was about 14 when I read it and if I re-read it I’m sure I’d have a different opinion haha. By now I know to avoid the Matched series. the premise never really appealed to me and the mixed/negative reviews have only solidified this stance haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had heard from some friends that it was much better than Twilight, which is why I originally picked it up…but, I didn’t wind up liking it all those years ago. :p

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ugh. It is the WORST when a beautiful cover contains a disappointing story, and I particularly agree about Matched. The trilogy’s covers are all absolutely stunning (I think that’s 90% of the reason why I stuck with the series until the end), but the first book is too reminiscent of other dystopians, the second book is boring, and the third book is unfocused and pointless. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with all of these; here’s to finding more wonderful stories with wonderful covers in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

