Review | The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

description

“Well,” I said. “If you need me, I’ll be outside, playing with sharp objects.”

Synopsis

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Review

10 Reasons Why The Red Pyramid is Basically The Lightning Thief.

1. Fourteen-year-old Carter and twelve-year-old Sadie = twelve-year-old Percy.

2. Egyptian gods in modern times = Greek Gods in Modern Times.

3. Book begins with Egyptian gods being released in museum = Percy killing Mrs. Dodds in museum.

4. Father taken captive-must-save = mother taken captive-must-save.

5. Rare/Powerful/Blood of the Pharaohs/Chosen ones Rare/Powerful/Son of Poseidon/Chosen one.

6. Iskandar = Chiron.

7. Carter and Sadie Ba dreams = Percy’s prophetic dreams.

8. Must obtain book of spells and Set’s secret name before few days deadline to prevent chaotic war = Find lightning bolt before the Summer Solstice and prevent chaotic war.

9. Apophis stirring in the Duat = Kronos stirring in Tartarus.

10. Anubis = Nico (sorta).

Just had to point those out. 

adore the Percy Jackson series with all my heart, and the Heroes of Olympus was pretty enjoyable too, but there’s an annoying little fact that is constantly nagging me in the back of my mind when I read Riordan’s other works – they’re all practically the same! Why does he constantly have to write stories based off mythology? Don’t get me wrong, all his books are pretty enjoyable, but why can’t he write a YA novel not based off mythology!? He’s done Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and just recently, Norse too! Ugh, it irritates me so much…and yet, I keep reading all of them. Darn you, Riordan! Your books are like a drug. >_> I really want him to write a non-mythology based YA series. Just imagine that!

Okay, glad I got all of that out of the way, because I liked The Red Pyramid quite a bit. Prior to reading this, I knew nothing at all about Egyptian mythology. Nothing. Zip. Nada. The only terms I had a vague concept of were: Osiris, Isis, Ra, & an Ankh. *slow claps* So, for me at least, this book was pretty educational. If I had already known a lot about Egyptian mythology I may have liked this book more…or maybe less? Oh well, what’s done is done.

The Pros

  • Like the Percy Jackson series, the setting and world building was fantastic. I especially loved the Duat, and have that worked. As I mentioned just moments ago, I am not a historian on Egyptian mythology, so I have no idea if the way the Duat was incorporated in the story was at all accurate to mythology. If I’m remembering correctly, it’s a Tartarus-like realm of the dead, right?
  • The whole book is supposed to be a tape recording. It’s a pretty interesting take on narration that I haven’t seen before. I suppose it could have been better, but I liked it. A little annoying at times, but overall an enjoyable bit of humor on the side.
  • Riordan’s writing style doesn’t change throughout his books. And, I mean it doesn’t change at all. It is literally the exact same as Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus series. But, it just so happens, that I love the writing in those books, and ditto for The Red Pyramid. The descriptions are very vivid and it’s really easy to depict. I especially had a really clear and concise vision of the Hall of Ages.
  • Zia! She was awesome! I loved her. Amos was really cool too. I will admit, I was a little disappointed Amos wasn’t in most of it. A shame, really. I loved the roles these two played in the ending. Bast was also nicely developed and a fun side-character.

  • The character development for Carter and Sadie was done pretty darn well. It’s a 500 + page book, so Riordan definitely had enough time to develop them.
  • The plot is so engaging! I know I sound like a hypocrite, since it took me nearly 3 weeks to get through this book, but it really is an enticing story.
  • Magic! I loved the way the magic worked in this book! The amulets, staffs, swords, wands, I loved it all! It was truly Percy Jackson meets Harry Potter! 😀

The Cons

  • SADIE! Yea, I hated her with a burning passion. I had heard she was an annoying character prior to reading, but I didn’t think she’d be that irritating! Sure, she had a few witty remarks here and there that were funny, but most of the time she’s selfish and an absolute jerk! Apparently, a lot of the fanbase doesn’t like her either. I wonder if it was Riordan’s intention to make her unlikable? Or was he trying to make another Percy and it went very wrong?

  • A lot of the time, I couldn’t tell if I was in Carter or Sadie’s POV. In the beginning Sadie has a British accent, so it’s easy to decipher her voice, but as the story progresses, it…vanishes? I know you can lose an accent after a while, but 1 week? Seriously!? Also, I didn’t think Carter had a very distinct personality, so maybe that could be why I kept thinking it was Sadie?
  • Yes, I’m still struggling to get past all the parallels between this and Percy Jackson.
  • It was a little predictable. And I would like to point out that Sadie was a stupid idiot for not listening to Zia about that certain thing. JUST SAYING.
  • Sheesh, this book was long. It was 550 pages! It could have easily been condensed to about 350.

Final Thoughts

FINALLY! I finally reviewed a freaking book! I am truly sorry that this is the first book I’ve reviewed in the entire 2016. It’s not that I haven’t had the motivation to read, but I just haven’t found the time to, if that makes any sense. Anyway, despite all its similarities to Percy Jackson, I really enjoyed The Red Pyramid and I’ll definitely finish this trilogy.

Have you read The Red Pyramid? What are your opinions on it?

description

14 thoughts on “Review | The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

    1. Haha, the narration annoyed me at times, but I mainly thought it was kinda cute, in a stupid way. XD Thanks, Yasmin!

      Like

  1. Great review! 🙂 I agree with your points. Uncle Rick’s works are really addicting. And Sadie for me, well, I read the book when I was younger, so I was always thought she is more like a very bossy older sister. But based on my recent reread, she is kinda rude.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks Mariana. I will admit, Sadie had a few funny comments, but overall I thought she was a little mean. :p

      Like

  2. Ahh yes, the unavoidable Percy Jackson comparison. You’re right his writing doesn’t change at all throughout the series he wrote. It goes like this: I LOVE PJO, I like Kane Chronicles, I couldn’t even get through Magnus Chase. It’s just that all the male protagonists are sort of a slightly-modified carbon copy of Percy…
    I will, however, read Trials of Apollo because I’m so invested in that world.
    lol about Sadie. She’s kinda irritating for me too.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

