Let’s Talk About… Judging Books by Their Covers

Yay, it’s Friday! That means another discussion post! This week i want to talk about one of most famous book sayings ever, don’t judge a book by its cover. It basically means not to judge someone or something from its exterior, but if we’re taking the saying literally, should we judge books by their covers? Without further ado, let’s talk about judging books by their covers! 

Is It Even Possible to Not Judge A Book By Its Cover?

I’ll be frolicing through the shelves of a Barnes and Noble, when there’s a particular book that catches my eye. Naturally, I’ll take it down from the shelves, read the synopsis, and if it’s intriguing, I’ll read the first chapter or so. What I’m trying to say, is that I wouldn’t have even bothered to pick that book up, if it’s cover hadn’t grasped my attention in the first place. I think that having an attractive cover is an essential part of publishing a book. You could have the most captivating and beautifully written story in the past century, but if it has an unappealing cover…you will lose more than a few potential readers.

Why You Shouldn’t Judge a Book By Its Cover

As much as I’d like to deny it, there’s always that hidden gem beneath a tacky cover. Take the Gallagher Girls books, for instance. The covers were a little childish, and the titles were very cheesy (i.e. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You), but I’ll talk about that next time. Because I didn’t fancy the covers, I didn’t read the books until my little sister threw them in my face. I ended up loving them.

And then there’s vice versa, or what I like to call, the cruel joke that was Matched. Haha, yes, I’m bringing it up again. I loved the covers for that trilogy! They’re so pretty! What a lie those covers were! I didn’t expect the book to be amazing, but I thought I’d at least like. I thought wrong. So, this is again, why you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. I don’t even think I read the entire synopsis for the first book – I was too blinded by the beauty of the cover.

Let’s Wrap It Up

I honestly can’t help myself from judging books by their covers. I’m human! I have imperfections, and this is one of them! XD Judging books by their covers has led me to a serendipity, and an utter disappointment. I should really consider reading the synopsis’ before the actual book, huh?

Well, that’s all I’ve got to say! What are your thoughts on judging books by their covers?   description

24 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Judging Books by Their Covers

  1. I always judge a book by it’s cover and I have no shame about it haha. My initial reaction is based on the cover, that’s what makes me pick up the book. The synopsis is what makes or breaks the deal for me though. In an ideal world all of my favourite book would have a gorgeous cover and a story to match haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i do judge books by their covers for first impressions and I have been burned quite a few times by them! It is always sad when a book doesnt live up to its gorgeous cover. Also just read the Gallagher girl books at the end of 2015 and LOVED them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. there was that meme that I saw last time:

    “Don’t judge a book by its cover. My math book has a cover of a student enjoying the textbook.It was a lie. I did not enjoy it at all.”

    lol! I agree with what you said Kelly. There are some books that deceived the reader by its purty covers while there are also some with fugly covers but they’re actually a gem ♥

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love the Gallagher Girls’ titles! haha That was actually what caught my 12-year-old selves eye, was that first title. The covers aren’t that great but at least they go along with what the story is about. I am a HUGE cover buyer which is to say that I do exactly what you mentioned in Barnes and Noble. But I’m finding that now, thanks to Goodreads, I’ll look at books with less than appealing covers based on their ratings and recs from people.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think we ought to do a little experiment, like we just give a book’s synopsis and hide the cover, then have people vote which ones they will choose without the cover bias.
    I’m also guilty of having a weakness for pretty books. I always believed that covers are part of the book as well and just as equally important. I think it’s essential to choose a cover that matches its content, so that just by looking at it alone you have a feel of what to expect from the book

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m very guilty of this. I get that not all books with great covers are great books vice versa. But I just couldn’t help not be drawn to it. I’ve been burned by a lot of books that have great covers. Most of them were shit. I know you shouldn’t judge it by the cover, but it’s just how thing is. When you look at something, you are always firstly drawn to the one that looks pretty. But publishing houses and indie authors need to understand that the cover of the book is one of the first things readers see, which makes it as important as the content of the book itself

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

