Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Was Spoiled For

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @ GingerReadSlainey on YouTube. You can view her Goodreads group too, to know all the week’s topics. This week’s theme is the top 5 books I was spoiled for! I. Hate. Spoilers. I didn’t really get into reading until two years ago, so there was quite a few books I got spoiled for! Here’s the top five worst spoilers I had heard! (Yes, I know I’m a few hours late to post this, but I really wanted to. Hehe)

5. Allegiant by Veronica Roth. 

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

I’ve only read Divergent, and I wasn’t blown away by it. I’ve also been spoiled that a certain character dies in the ending, so I’ve lost a lot of motivation to continue with the trilogy.

4. The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1)

Does it count if a movie spoils the books for you? Haha. I would’ve liked the book much more, if I hadn’t seen the movie first and knew how everything was going to play out.

3. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. 

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

I loved this book, but it really was a shame that I already knew about his split personalities. It completely destroyed the mystery element of the book for me.

2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. 

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

Yes, I knew about the second emotional death in this book, and therefore, didn’t shed a tear.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

WARNING! SPOILERS!!!

The only thing worse than being spoiled the ending to a fantastic series by someone who’s read the book? Being spoiled by someone who hasn’t read it! As I was reading the Sorcerer’s Stone, my younger sister says, Oh, you’re finally reading Harry Potter? Me: *looks up from book* Hmm, yea. It’s so good, and I love how I don’t know what happens! Sister: Ha ha. Well, we all know that Harry dies in the end and comes back to life, so… Me: WHAT!? I FORGOT ABOUT THAT! WHY WOULD YOU SAY THAT!  Sister: Everyone knows! Me: *glares*

So, those are my top 5 books I was spoiled for! What’s yours?

description

28 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Was Spoiled For

    1. Shockingly, the only “death” I was spoiled for was Harry’s! I had no idea about all the others. A miracle considering how long I waited to read them, lol!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, that’s what bugged me, because she wasn’t into the HP books! None of my family was into Harry Potter, yet, my sister knew the spoiler and spoiled it for me. Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I totally agree with Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – I really enjoyed the book but it would have been a lot better if I hadn’t know about the split personalities. But I guess that can’t be helped, as it is a classic and a pretty famous fact.
    Luckily I wasn’t spoiled for much when it comes to Harry Potter. (I only watched the first 3 movies before I read the books and that was all.) I would have been sooo angry if someone spoiled me for the later books.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. HAHAHA. I actually haven’t read Dracula yet (I really need to, though), but it’s almost impossible not to know that he’s a vampire. XD

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved this hahaah! I got spoiled for Allegiant (but didn’t everyone?!) and now I have got no motivation to pick it up because WHY? Just WHY? Also the Harry Potter spoiler must have been the worst, I would have been so angry hahaha. I read The Strange Case of Dr. Jekell and Mr Hyde but knew about the ‘twist’ as I have watched many of the TV, film and stage adaptation but never read the book. But when I did finally the read the book I loved it and though it was so much better than any of the adaptations I had watched! Also, I feel awful but I spoiled the second death in Mocking Jay for my friend and now she refuses to read the book. I still feel terrible. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I accidentally spoiled the second death for Mockingjay for one of my friends too. She had said her favorite book ever was the Hunger Games and I thought she meant the trilogy! Apparently, she had only read the first book! I felt so bad. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

