Top Ten Tuesday | Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

This weekly meme was created by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme that I chose is ten books I’d give a theme song to. I’m not sure about you, but I often associate books I read with a particular song. Not to mention a very long playlist when I’m writing a story (I’m pretty sure a lot of writers do this). Haha. So, here are a few theme songs I’d give to some lovely books.

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. 

I am a question to the world,
Not an answer to be heard
Or a moment that’s held in your arms.
And what do you think you’d ever say?
I won’t listen anyway…
You don’t know me,
And I’ll never be what you want me to be.

And I want a moment to be real,
Wanna touch things I don’t feel,
Wanna hold on and feel I belong.
And how can the world want me to change?
They’re the ones that stay the same.
They don’t know me,
‘Cause I’m not here.

9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

She’s dancing with strangers,
Falling apart
Waiting for Superman to pick her up…
She says, “If life was a movie, then it wouldn’t end like this,
Left without a kiss.”

8. Cress by Marissa Meyer. 

Steal my heart and hold my tongue.
I feel my time, my time has come.
Let me in, unlock the door.
I’ve never felt this way before.

For you, I’d wait ’til kingdom come.
Until my day, my day is done.
And say you’ll come, and set me free,
Just say you’ll wait, you’ll wait for me…

7. The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan. 

They say we are what we are
But we don’t have to be.
I’m bad behavior but I do it in the best way.
I’ll be the watcher (watcher) of the eternal flame.
I’ll be the guard dog of all your fever dreams.

‘Cause we could be immortals, immortals
Just not for long, for long.
And live with me forever now,
You pull the blackout curtains down
Just not for long, for long…

6. Undivided By Neal Shusterman. 

And it’s dark in a cold December, but I’ve got you to keep me warm
If you’re broken I will mend you and I’ll keep you sheltered from the storm that’s raging on now

I’m out of touch, I’m out of love
I’ll pick you up when you’re getting down
And out of all these things I’ve done I think I love you better now
I’m out of sight, I’m out of mind
I’ll do it all for you in time…

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. 

And I’d give up forever to touch you
‘Cause I know that you feel me somehow
You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be
And I don’t wanna go home right now

And I don’t want the world to see me
‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am…

4. Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken. 

I wanna hide the truth
I wanna shelter you
But with the beast inside
There’s nowhere we can hide

When you feel my heat
Look into my eyes
It’s where my demons hide
It’s where my demons hide
Don’t get too close
It’s dark inside…

3. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner.

On the first page of our story
The future seemed so bright
Then this thing turned out so evil
I don’t know why I’m still surprised
Even angels have their wicked schemes
And you take that to new extremes
But you’ll always be my hero
Even though you’ve lost your mind

Just gonna stand there and watch me burn
Well that’s alright because I like the way it hurts
Just gonna stand there and hear me cry
Well that’s alright because I love the way you lie
I love the way you lie…

2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. 

What a shame we all became such fragile, broken things.
A memory remains just a tiny spark.
I give it all my oxygen,
To let the flames begin…
Somewhere weakness is our strength,
And I’ll die searching for it.
I can’t let myself regret such selfishness.
My pain and all the trouble caused,
No matter how long
I believe that there’s hope
Buried beneath it all and…

This is how we’ll dance when,
When they try to take us down
This is how we’ll sing it.
This is how we’ll stand when
When they burn our houses down.
This is what will be oh glory.

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.   

Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’ll be the one, if you want me to
Anywhere I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you

And I will swallow my pride
You’re the one that I love
And I’m saying goodbye…

Ah, I loved this week’s theme! Do any of these songs remind you of those books?

description

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

  1. Waiting for Superman ❤ I love that song and it is definitely a fitting theme song for The Book Thief. Goo Goo Dolls is definitely an appropriate fit for Cinder and now I need to go listen to that song on repeat. I must say you have some great tunes here and they are all so very fitting with each book. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh, another human being actually knows and loves I’m Still Here!? WHAT!? Lol. It’s one of my favorite songs ever! 😀

      Like

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

