Book Blogger End of Year Survey – 2016!

Since I didn’t update my blog for the majority of 2016, here’s a little glimpse at all my reading highlights of the past year! I loved doing this survey at the end of 2015, so I am quite excited to be doing it again! Though I didn’t read very many novels this year, I still discovered more than a few fantastic novels. Without further ado, let’s get to it! This survey was created by the lovely Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner .

Number of books you read: 35

Number of re-reads: 2

Genre you read from the most: Fantasy

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best book you read in 2016?

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I was pretty late to hop on the Throne of Glass  bandwagon, but I sure am glad that I did! Maas’ intricate fantasy world and beautifully complex characters has made Throne of Glass one of my favorite young adult series. I can’t wait to read Empire of Storms! 

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling. To be perfectly honest, I wasn’t at all impressed with this. I didn’t expect it to match the remarkable Harry Potter series (one of my all-time favorites), but I was hoping for it to at least be satisfying. It was mediocre, dull, and unmemorable. A tremendous disappointment.

 3. Most surprising (in a GOOD way or bad way) book you read?

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Everyone I knew was raving about this book, so naturally, I picked it up … AH! It was outstanding! Marvelous! Phenomenal! I adore this book with all my heart. I instantly fell in love with all of the characters and the fantasy elements in the story are done beautifully!

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer. I truly love Meyer. The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series, and this collection of short stories was a nice little way to appease my fangirlish withdrawls since the series ended.

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. No question there. As I state before, this series is simply incredible! I can’t recommend it enough.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. An Ember in the Ashes was one of my most anticipated novels of 2016, and as it turned out to be, one of my favorites.  The engaging plot and intriguing characters reeled me into Tahir’s stunningly fleshed out world.

Champion by Marie Lu. I wasn’t a huge fan of the Legend trilogy, but Champion nonetheless, was a solid and entertaining conclusion to an otherwise decent trilogy.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Sarah J. Maas. I think we can all agree that she is a goddess.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. I don’t read Historical Fiction very often, but when I do, I tend to really enjoy the books. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas was a lovely, yet depressing, novel. The perspective in the book is very unique, and I loved it!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. Let’s face it, zombie books are quite cliche and more often that not undistinguished. I had categorized all books regarding the undead to match the likes of that, until I read Rot and Ruin. Oh. My. Gosh. This book broke me. It was a genuinely deep and insightful novel, and I absolutely adore it. ❤

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Raven Boys. I can’t get enough of this book!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

17378508

My love of Stiefvater is excessive, perhaps? ❤

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars. I am one of those rare teenage girls who has just barely read this great novel, and hadn’t even heard a single spoiler prior to reading it! Gus is an incredibly refreshing and unforgettable character, and though some of his dialogue felt rehearsed, it still made me laugh or bring a tear to my eye.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. John Green is a remarkable writer, he truly is. His writing is occasionally over-dramatic, but for the most part, is beautiful.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

The Boy in the Stiped Pajamas. In a nutshell … A nine-year-old, German boy befriends a child, unaware that he’s a Jewish prisoner. An exceptional novel!

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. This book was always lurking in my TBR pile, just waiting to be read!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” – Hazel Grace, The Fault in Our Stars

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest (220 pages): Fairest by Marissa Meyer. Longest (648 pages): Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most?

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I didn’t find the plot particularly engaging at first, and was indifferent towards the characters. As the story progressed, my interest grew, and the ending caught me completely by surprise! In retrospect, it made everything in the novel crystal clear, and was an incredibly intriguing idea.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Image result for aelin and rowan fanart

AELIN AND ROWAN from Throne of Glass Series!!! ❤  ❤ ❤

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year?

Image result for benny and tom imura

Tom and Benny Imura from Rot and Ruin. I swear, brotherly love is my downfall.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?

Fairest by Marissa Meyer. A really stunning novella about Levana’s backstory. I enjoyed it quite a bit!

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure?

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I wan’t necessarily blown away by this novel, but I liked it for the most part.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Richard Gansey from The Raven Boys. Who can’t fall in love with him!?

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Believe it or not, I didn’t read a single 2016 debut … I’m disgusted by myself.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. Everything about the Throne of Glass novels are pure perfection.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. I tend to have a habit of reading somewhat depressing books; I read The Fault in Our Stars and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas the same week. Enough said. Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl was HILARIOUS! I cried from laughing multiple times while reading it. A much needed, amusing read. 😀

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. This book is renowned for being depressing. I knew what I was going into … and yet, I sobbed and sobbed like a child. Beautiful book, but be sure to have a box of tissues near by.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. There are some books whose concepts and setting are so unique that even if they aren’t written exceptionally, create an enthralling story. Incarceron is one of those books!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS! *tears streak down face*

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

The Kinfe of Never Letting Go. I had a predetermined notion of what this book was like, but it wasn’t at all what I had been expecting … however, that wasn’t a bad thing! The plot was a bit slow, but I loved the idea of it, the characters, and the setting. It was a fascinating book!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Allegiant  by Veronica Roth. I am not a huge fan of the Divergent trilogy; I found the first book to be mediocre at best, and it’s a miracle I managed to trudge through Insurgent and Allegiant. This trilogy held potential, and it was ruined by awful plot holes, infuriating characters, and petty and pointless conflicts between members of the same team.

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I honestly don’t know which blogs I discovered in late 2015 or early 2016, but one of my favorite blogs is  A Frolic Through Fiction. Ashleigh’s book reviews and discussions are so much fun to read, and the design and layout of her reviews and website are lovely! ❤

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

I really only reviewed around three books in 2016, but I definitely enjoyed writing my short review for Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban. 

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Let’s Talk About … The Five Stage of a Book Hangover. I had a blast writing this post, and I hope I was able to bring a smile to a few people’s faces! 😀

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I (regretfully) didn’t go to any bookish events this year.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I’m not really sure! I did love when I started my discussion posts, so perhaps that. 😀

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

As evident by my 10 month withdrawl from blogging, finding the time to read and post on my blog! I really hope to make time this year to be able to read a ton of books and write lots of posts here!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I had no clue, so I just checked my blog’s stats, and the answer surprised me quite a bit! The Inside Out Book Tag. My average views per post is around 70, but this post had 286 views! Wow!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My reviews tend to have the least amount of views. Anything I can do to spice them up a bit more? Let me know! 😀

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Netgalley! I had heard of it before, but didn’t make an account until a month ago. I have already been sent 3 ARC’s! I’m so excited!

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Not even close to any, unfortunately. Hopefully 2017 will be a better year!

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Empire of Storms. This is #1 on my TBR list!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

It is still untitled, but the third novel in An Ember in the Ashes series. 😀

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. There has been plenty of hype surrounding this novel, and I am greatly interested in this book as well!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The last Throne of Glass novel. Does it have a title yet!?

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I really hope I can keep up with my resolve to post on my blog, and I would love to read 75 books this year!

That's a Wrap!.png

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now! ❤

What were some of your reading highlights of 2016?

What are you looking forward to in your reading/blogging life in 2017?

kelly

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger End of Year Survey – 2016!

      1. I love it, although I will say that ACOTAR is not nearly as good as ACOMAF. I gave ACOTAR four stars, but ACOMAF blew my mind. ACOTAR is still really, really good, but not as good as the TOG series, ACOMAF might be better than the TOG series.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Two at the moment- the next one comes out at the beginning of May. That’s the final book in the trilogy, but there are going to be three new books in the same world set after ACOWAR (the third book) but we don’t know any more than that yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Aw thank you so much for the shoutout ❤ I'm so glad you like my blog 😀
    We have such a similar taste in books judging from this survey ahaha. Sounds like you had a great reading year! Hope you have a lovely 2017 x

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what's lurking in your mind!

